Women's Volleyball sweeps Pratt to win ACAA title

Women's Volleyball sweeps Pratt to win ACAA title

PHOENIXVILLE, PA (11-3) UCSC are the 2019 ACAA champions!

After a long trip to Philly, the Banana Slugs (15-14) beat Pratt Institute 3-0 (25-14, 25-14, 25-18) in the match on Sunday morning. 

"I am so proud of this team and the growth I have seen this season. We have had a great journey and it's very satisfying to make such a long road trip and come back Conference Champions," said head coach Gabrielle Houston. "Every single person contributed in practice and tournaments to our success!"

The Cannoneers (20-8) rallied against the Banana Slugs to start off the first set and the two teams were tied at 5-5. UCSC then took the next 6 points to take the lead 11-5. And once UCSC took off, Pratt had a difficult time catching back up. UCSC took the set finalized by a kill from Claire Okerlund

In the second set, UCSC was quick to take the lead 6-0. Pratt, however, did their best to compete with the Slugs. But at 19-14,  UCSC was able to finish the set on 6 straight points, with another tough kill by Okerlund and 5 attack errors by Pratt. 

The third set was a battle till the very end. As the lead alternated between the two teams, the Cannoneers were finally able to tie it at 18-18. Yet, UCSC stayed focused on winning the match and the title, not stopping until the job was done. They won the set 25-18, scoring on 2 kills from Okerlund, a kill by Sinead Beaupain, and kills by Isabella Hoglund and Maiya Sears

UCSC outhit the Cannoneers .256 to .011. 

The ACAA champs had balanced statistics with Sears contributing 8 kills, and Okerlund with 7. Jordan Kirchner had six total blocks. Beaupain wreaked havoc with 22 assists and was named Tournament MVP.

All-Tournament Team

Kaitlyn Hess, Valley Forge
Adrianna Nester, Mount Mary
Rose Moon, Pratt
Shannon Core, Pratt
Jordan Kirschner, UC Santa Cruz
MVP - Sinead Beaupain, UC Santa Cruz